The history, events, quirks and rituals that make Wake Forest unique help form a lasting bond among those who call themselves Demon Deacons. In a time before Google, these were things passed from one generation of Wake Foresters to the next. Embrace them. Make them your own.
Manual Labor Institute was founded.
years old, and the first graduating class included 4 students.
an invitation from the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation to move from Wake Forest, N.C. to Winston-Salem, N.C.
opened its doors in 1956.
private institution in the South to integrate (1962).
became Wake Forest University in 1967. The letters WFC can still be found in ironwork around campus.
Project Pumpkin is an annual event sponsored by the Volunteer Service Corps around Halloween. It brings approximately 1,500 children from the Winston-Salem community onto campus, and pairs them with Wake Forest undergraduates for trick-or-treating and carnival games. projectpumpkin.wfu.edu
You’ll find them gracing Manchester Plaza, and they hold a special place in the hearts of Wake Foresters across the globe. The magnolias of today come from seeds that were collected from the Old Campus in 1947, grown for five years in a swimming pool in South Carolina, then transplanted to the Reynolda Campus.
What do over 1,200 students do together in Reynolds Gym for 12 continuous hours in March? They dance, sing, play games, hear inspirational stories and have an outrageous time, all to help find a cure for cancer. So get on your feet, and get ready to dance! wakenshake.com
It’s not our first arch. What graces the Quad today is a replica of the original, which can still be found on our Old Campus in Wake Forest, N.C. Each year during Commencement, the graduating class carries on the tradition of entering the Quad through the arch.
“This is college!” These were the words of a first-year student while racing around the Quad as a member of his residence hall’s relay team. More than 1,000 students, faculty and staff join together in Wake Forest’s annual eight-hour team relay event to benefit the Brian Piccolo Cancer Drive. wfuhitthebricks.com
Named for Samuel Wait, our University’s first president. The 12-ton carillon consists of 48 bronze bells. There are only 100 of its kind nationwide. The chapel has hosted a wide range of events, including two presidential debates, the memorial service for Maya Angelou, NPR’s “Wait Wait …Don’t Tell Me” and many speakers, including Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., President Jimmy Carter, James Earl Jones, Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., Tony Dungy, Senator John McCain, Ta-Nehisi Coates and Laverne Cox.
START Gallery, the Wake Forest University Student Art Gallery, was founded in 2009 and is located in Reynolda Village adjacent to the University campus. The gallery offers students the opportunity to display and sell their artwork, and through its eight to 10 exhibitions a year strives to create a unique experience for students interested in art or art management. START boasts various opportunities for students to get involved, including STARTyourself, which allows interested students to present solo shows of their work or to curate exhibitions of the work of others.